Politics As Usual? Not in Wyoming

I have always had a fascination with politics and a deep respect for those who are willing to be public servants in any capacity. I have strong opinions and don’t always agree with even my favorite elected officials, but I’m not looking for a candidate with whom I always agree. To gain my support a candidate must be willing to listen to constituents and sincerely consider their input.

Last week I picked up the phone around dinner time expecting to hear a telemarketer or a friend of my daughter’s on the other end. Who else calls at dinner time? To my surprise I was put through to a high tech “town hall” meeting with Senator John Barrasso! The operator explained that if I had a question I just needed press 0 and I would be able to talk directly with the Senator and all of the rest of the listeners would be able to hear. I didn’t ask any questions myself but learned from the questions of others and was impressed with the majority of Senator Barrasso’s answers.

I also had a short, informal meeting with our area’s State Representative, Elaine Harvey last week. She truly cares about making the right choices and I greatly appreciate her desire to plug in to her constituency and really listen.

Here is part of an email that was sent out today from Barbara Ann Green with Big Horn County Economic Development.

Please join United States Senator Mike Enzi
Wednesday, August 27
for coffee and donuts
and an informal meet and greet
9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Dutchies at the KOA Campground
Greybull, Wyoming
Please stop by and meet Senator Enzi and visit with him
about any issues of importance to you.
For additional information please contact
Karen McCreery, field representative
Cody field office
307-527-9444
or email:
Karen_McCreery@enzi.senate.gov

How fortunate are we here in the Cowboy State? I hope to never take for granted the privilege we have to engage in one on one conversations and personal relationships with every elected official who represents us. There is nothing “usual” about having the opprotunity to talk with both U.S. Senators personally over the course of a week and a half.

The primary election is tomorrow so get out and exercise your right to vote…..it’s a privilege we must not take for granted!

About Sarah Johnson

Johnson Home and Land is a small but active real estate firm in rural northwest Wyoming. We are an experienced team of professionals who seek inform our readers about the local and national real estate market. Contact us at info@johnsonhomeandland.com or 307-548-6909
This entry was posted in Professional and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Politics As Usual? Not in Wyoming

  1. jyld says:

    Yes, I voted Tuesday. The local registration and voting process was simple and those involved were very friendly and helpful. Having lived here in Wyoming for just a year, this was my first time voting as a Wyoming resident. Now I feel even more a part of the community. Part of belonging is taking the responsibility to vote, and vote knowledgeably. I’m very happy to have this privilege and responsibility.

    Like

Leave a Reply

