Christmas Brunch

Every Christmas I have mixed feelings about letting the kids eat tons of candy in the wee early morning hours before eating anything nutritious. I’m not about to give the kiddos all kinds of candy and then tell them not to eat it…..that wouldn’t make much sense. On the other hand who wants a houseful of kids with sky rocketing blood sugar and belly aches. This year I’m going to try something a little different and see if it works. My mom let me know about this recipe and suggested I give it a try. It’s a “do-ahead” which is the only way to go on Christmas Day.

8 eggs, slightly beaten

6 slices of bread, cubed

1 Cup Cheddar Cheese, grated

1 lb. sausage (pork, beef, or turkey) cooked and drained

2 Cup milk

1 tsp. dry mustard

Mix all ingredients, pour in greased 9 x 13 baking dish, refrigerate overnight

Bake 30 minutes at 350….serves 8

I’m going make this tomorrow and then pop in in the oven first thing Christmas morning. I’m hoping we can much on this throughout the morning so the kids have something warm and solid in the stomaches along with their chocolate/marshmallow Santas and candy canes.

About Sarah Johnson

Johnson Home and Land is a small but active real estate firm in rural northwest Wyoming. We are an experienced team of professionals who seek inform our readers about the local and national real estate market. Contact us at info@johnsonhomeandland.com or 307-548-6909
This entry was posted in Just for Fun! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas Brunch

  1. jyld says:

    For several years my family has been enjoying some variation of this Breakfast Casserole. You can add whatever vegetables you have on hand including green, red or hot peppers, onions, mushrooms, broccoli, or even parboiled carrots. Regardless of the size of your gathering, it’s really nice having something nutritious without being in the kitchen on Christmas morning!

    Like

  2. Sarah Johnson says:

    It worked! The majority of my family liked this recipe which is an accomplishment. We even served it to some guests that stopped by Christmas Day.

    Like

  3. jyld says:

    Yes, it worked for us too! I added onions, red & green peppers and was pleased that it looked so “Christmasy”! I really like the good food with no morning effort. So, how do we accomplish a good supper tonight with no effort…I know, I should have used the crock pot this morning! Ah, well, that’s a story for another day.

    Like

  4. DeAnna Calvin says:

    I’m glad you added your post about that it worked because that was going to be my next question for you. I have seen several variations of this recipe but have never been brave enough to try it out. I think I just might have to do that now that you both tell me what a success it is. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. Yumm! I can’t wait to give it a try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

