Winter Driving

Winter Emergency Kit

Winter Emergency Kit

I think at this point it’s needless to say that I loathe winter. And the only thing I hate more than winter is driving in winter weather. Anyone who knows me, knows I always drive my car on a quarter tank of gas or less, hate wearing coats, and will wear high heals in a foot of snow. Okay living in Wyoming most of my life you would think I would know better!

I am finally putting together a trusty winter emergency kit for my car. This little piece of insurance will help my husband and family rest at ease when they know I am out on the roads as much as my job demands. Making a kit is easy and most of us have these items on hand. Throw them in a plastic tote and you are ready.

So what does one need in her emergency winter car kit? According to the online source at AAA, these are the items every motorist should have stashed in his or her car:

  • flashlight
  • flares or reflective triangle
  • distress sign
  • first aid supplies
  • basic tools
  • a fully charged cell phone, cell phone charger

My recommended items are:

  • boots
  • hat
  • coat
  • gloves
  • jumper cables
  • carpet strips, sand or kitty litter for traction
  • ice scraper and brush
  • blanket and/or sleeping bag
  • granola bar or nuts
  • a first aid kit

Oh, learn to change your flat tires too! My dad insisted that I know how to do it before I was allowed to get my drivers license, it is a lesson that has come in handy so many times! Thanks Dad! Another great piece of advice is to never let your fuel tank get below a half a tank! For safety, and better fuel economy that helps your engine’s life by reducing condensation inside your tank. (AAA said so)

So here’s to the season’s impending winter, snow and ice. And to (shudder) driving in the winter, be safe!!

About Lisa Marchant

I enjoy assisting people in finding their new home or investment property. I want to be their trusted advisor when it comes to learning more about the process of buying, selling and relocating to our area. It is my number one goal to provide exceptional service to everyone I work with. Having lived in Deaver and Cowley Wyoming since childhood I am very knowledgeable about the area and enjoy sharing that knowledge with those making Wyoming their new home. I am a full time real estate agent working for Johnson Home and Land. I joined the staff at Johnson Home and Land in March of 2003, beginning as the office secretary and personal assistant. I got my real estate license in February of 2005. I am a member of the Northwest Wyoming Board of REALTORS, Wyoming Association of REALTORS, the National Association of REALTORS, and locally a board member of the Lovell Chamber of Commerce.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Driving

  1. Sarah Johnson says:

    Lisa- This is so true. Even though I know it I still do not have all of these things in the car. I will though before Jan 1st 2009

    Like

  2. Sarah Johnson says:

    Remember….our contest is still going. Please leave us a comment on ANY post and that will give you one chance to the win the surprise. Enter as many times as you wish to comment

    Like

  3. DeAnna Calvin says:

    Thanks Lisa for the reminder and the good advice, I too travel with emergency supplies in my car and would hate to be with out them if the need arises. I appreciate your thoughtfulness in helping us to be more prepared and safe on out wintery Wyoming roads.

    Like

  4. DeAnna, Glad to hear it, with the constant weather changes in our neck of the woods, it’s always a good idea to be careful. Stay Warm!

    Like

Leave a Reply

