It’s Thanksgiving Time!

I was in Kohls recently.  It is one of my favorite stores.  I had always heard so many good things about this store but seeing is believing.  When Billings finally got a Kohls, I was thrilled.  With the exception of groceries….it is one stop shopping at it’s best.  I know department stores are not that big of a deal for most, but I live in Cowley, population 500.  Therefore, Kohls is a great big treat for me.  Anyway….as soon as I closed my car door in the parking lot I could hear the not so subtle Christmas music pumping from mysterious, invisible mega speakers.  What?  I still had a pumpkin on my porch and I’m personally not dreaming of a white Christmas right now.   The “season” really does get longer every year.  Why?  Consumerism.  At a time when the calendar gently reminds us to be thankful for all of our many blessings we are pounded with desperate retailers who are attempting to make us believe that they don’t see a cent of profit until “Black Friday.”    I had a pretty specific list of things I intended to buy that day.   I may have purchased a couple of early Christmas gifts but I am serious when I say that music put me OUT of the mood to spend.  That’s right.  Their ploy back fired and I left the store empty handed for the first time ever.

I am not a Scrooge and I have never uttered Bah Humbug in my life.  I love Christmas for what it really is.  I also have a ton of fun with the not so serious side of Christmas and I love to give gifts.

I think Thanksgiving is a very significant holiday and I choose to decorate, anticipate, plan and enjoy this holiday all by itself.   I may have a gift or two stuffed under the bed, but I choose to focus my heart and mind on this season of remembering everything I am thankful for.

About Sarah Johnson

Johnson Home and Land is a small but active real estate firm in rural northwest Wyoming. We are an experienced team of professionals who seek inform our readers about the local and national real estate market. Contact us at info@johnsonhomeandland.com or 307-548-6909
This entry was posted in Just for Fun! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Thanksgiving Time!

  1. Sarah, I am in total ageement!! Thanksgiving is a time to celebrate and remeber what we are all thankful for.
    I saw my first Christmas shopping commercial before Halloween this year. What????
    Lets have one holiday at a time people!!!
    I’m thankful for you, and my wonderful job!! Have a Joyous and Memorable Thanksgiving.
    Lisa

    Like

  2. Sarah says:

    Thanks Lisa…I am very thankful for you and Jyl too.

    Like

  3. WyomingDreamer says:

    This is so funny, I’m in total agreement with you. Sometimes it seems as though all the holidays are meshing into one and the true meaning of the holidays are lost.

    Like

Leave a Reply

