Valentine’s Day – Chocolate Lava Cake

Lava Cakes for Dessert!

What says Valentine’s Day more than Chocolate? If you are planning a nice meal at home for your honey, or family, this is a yummy dessert!

I’ve eaten Lava cakes in restaurants and always thought they would be hard to make at home. They aren’t! Granted, I did do the “Lisa version” but it tasted just as incredible.

Here is what you need:

  1. Chocolate Cake Mix – I used Chocolate Fudge flavor because I had it on hand.
  2. Ice Cream – use your favorite flavor, but be warned these are rich so vanilla works best in my opinion. Get the good stuff. I got vanilla bean, it’s my favorite.
  3. Hot Chocolate Fudge topping
  4. Magic Shell Topping
  5. Caramel Topping
  6. A friend to help you with the assembly if you are doing more than just a couple. I used my brother cause he is the best at making big scoops of ice cream!
  • You make the cupcakes as directed on the box, let cool completely.
  • Cut the tops off the cupcakes and save them, by setting to the side.
  • Make a well in the bottom half of the cupcake to hold the hot fudge topping.
  • Spoon in the hot fudge topping into the hollowed out cupcake and set the top back on.
  • Put it on a microwave safe plate and heat for about 20 seconds.
  • Put a scoop of ice cream next to the cake, top the ice cream with Magic Shell topping and drizzle with caramel sauce. This is a little over board, but who cares, you are eating a lava cake, it’s pretty and everyone needs a special treat now and then!

Serve while the cakes are warm. Good luck, they are so rich. You need a sweet tooth for this dessert.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Lisa Marchant

About Lisa Marchant

I enjoy assisting people in finding their new home or investment property. I want to be their trusted advisor when it comes to learning more about the process of buying, selling and relocating to our area. It is my number one goal to provide exceptional service to everyone I work with. Having lived in Deaver and Cowley Wyoming since childhood I am very knowledgeable about the area and enjoy sharing that knowledge with those making Wyoming their new home. I am a full time real estate agent working for Johnson Home and Land. I joined the staff at Johnson Home and Land in March of 2003, beginning as the office secretary and personal assistant. I got my real estate license in February of 2005. I am a member of the Northwest Wyoming Board of REALTORS, Wyoming Association of REALTORS, the National Association of REALTORS, and locally a board member of the Lovell Chamber of Commerce.
This entry was posted in From Our Heart, Just for Fun! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Valentine’s Day – Chocolate Lava Cake

  1. Sarah Johnson says:

    Well Lisa…..sounds like they were a hit with your family. Maybe I can pull it off with mine?

    Like

  2. Sarah Johnson says:

    Your brother was sure impressed!

    Like

  3. Yes, he has a sweet tooth like me. He is a great cook too!

    Like

  4. jyld says:

    I HAVE to try this on Valentine’s Day! That’s a great excuse to indulge…especially on chocolate.

    Like

  5. I want this right now!! It sounds really good. I am going to have to try it, maybe we will have to do some baking together one day Lisa! That would be fun. Mybe make a dinner for 4 and have a little get together?

    Like

  6. Carrie says:

    these sound delicious! You’ll have to make them for me sometime 🙂

    Like

  7. Carrie, I will make them for you next time you come to visit!

    Like

  8. Alice says:

    oh wow!! I totally had to snag that recipe!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

