I Love Being a Wyomingite!

Gov. Dave Freudenthal

It’s been awhile since I have had a half a second to hop on here and let you all know what we have been up to here at Johnson Home and Land.  It’s been a whirlwind and I don’t say that lightly.

Last week I took my annual trek to the Wyoming Association of REALTORS Mid-Winter Legislative Meetings.  I have always had a strong interest in politics which fuels my involvement with  the political side of the REALTOR association.  I am passionate about this topic for a variety of reasons.  After a decade and a half of representing buyers and sellers, private property rights have become  near and dear to me.  Our elected officials need to be held accountable to their constituents.  The great news is that here in Wyoming they WANT to hear from us.  They want input from people with experience in various fields to explain the pros and cons of bills that affect different industries and individuals.  Am I saying that every time I ask my legislator to vote a certain way they do?  No.  I am saying  that they listen.   They gather the info from those who are directly affected and then they vote their conscience.  It’s democracy at it’s best.  Sometimes I can’t believe how fortunate we are in this regard here in Wyoming. We can walk into the Capital, send a note into our legislator and explain our view on any issue.  We can send email that they actually read personally and often respond to. We can meet with them in the interim at the local cafe and offer our perspective on any topic.   Each REALTOR who was willing to take a couple hours out of their day got an opportunity to hear Governor Dave Freudenthal speak directly to our small group.  He discussed his conservative approach to spending with regard to this year’s budget.  He talked about several of the real estate related bills we were dealing with last week.  He didn’t pull any punches and I tend to agree with his fiscal philosophy the majority of the time.  Again…I don’t always agree on every issue but I have a great deal of respect for him and am honored that he would take the time out to address our small group.

I consider it such a privilege to call Wyoming home.

Powder River….Let er’  Buck!

Write us a comment if you are proud to be a Wyomingite!   Or if you’d love to be one.

Sarah

About Sarah Johnson

Johnson Home and Land is a small but active real estate firm in rural northwest Wyoming. We are an experienced team of professionals who seek inform our readers about the local and national real estate market. Contact us at info@johnsonhomeandland.com or 307-548-6909
This entry was posted in The Great State of Wyoming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Love Being a Wyomingite!

  1. I agree with Sarah about our Wyoming way of life, even the government. It is truly AWESOME to visit our Capitol and see our lawmakers in action. While we were there, we watched as 6 new highway patrol graduates were sworn in and several student groups visited to observe the session.

    Many private property rights issues are before the legislators, and our input as individuals is welcomed and appreciated by those who represent us. We all have an opportunity to be heard, so SPEAK UP! The Wyoming Association of REALTORS and local Boards are looking out for individual property owners and their rights, so if you have a concern let them know.

    Like

  2. Jyl Duffy says:

    Politics frustrate me but much less since I became a Wyomingite! Do you realize ours was the first state to give women the right to vote…no wonder Wyoming is known as the “Equality State”.

    Living in Wyoming we know our vote counts since our governor and legislators do listen to us. I also admit to loving the wide open spaces instead of traffic and people everywhere. We’ve got it made!

    Like

  3. Sarah Johnson says:

    Yep. I am very proud and sincerely wish that more people were involved. Those that aren’t are missing out. The good news? It’s never too late to start.

    Like

  4. Me and my husband have lived in Wyoming our entire lives. We have talked of moving away, but that talk is just that…talk. Where would we ever go that could compare to where we are now? Where could we go that has the mountain ranges and we would have the ability to hike or climb them right in our back yard in just a day? Where could we ever go that our kids can play outside for hours and we only need to check on them once or twice, because we know that the rest of the parents in the neighborhood are watching out for them too? Where could we ever go that the air is clean and the night skies are filled with brilliant stars? Where could we ever go that we could have our friends hang out and speak of the hikes they did or the fishing trip they had or the fun they had out in the hills shooting? Where could we ever go that we felt safe in our home and leaving our cars unlocked and the windows down as we shopped the local stores downtown? Where could we ever go that would come close to this beautiful, wonderful state that we call home?
    My answer…Nowhere but Wyoming! I am proud to say that I am a Wyoming native and that is one thing I would never change about myself. I love this great state and as I think of living somewhere else glamorous or wonderful or better than this, I find my thoughts wandering right back to my own front door right here in Wyoming every time because it is the best place for our kids to grow up and I love to be able to escape to the high mountains and breathe the fresh mountain air and listen to the babbling brook wander its way through the willows as I sleep. I also enjoy those morning drives up the Northfork into YNP and seeing the mightiest of beasts, the grizzly bear, chomping on meadow grasses-majestic and beautiful.
    No, I don’t think that I would trade one moment of living where I do right now for another moment that I could have living somewhere else. The trade would just be too costly to this person that has Wyoming pumping through her veins just as much as the blood that supplies oxygen to her body. This is home and it will forever remain just that…home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

