A Trip Down Memory Lane Part III

By definition a real estate broker is responsible for the words and actions of all the licensees that work for them so I could understand Laura’s apprehension.  Finally I asked her to just give me a trail run, a probationary period and she relented.  I can not begin to describe how relived I was to have that application signed and in the mail to the Wyoming Real Estate Commission.

When I showed up for my first day of work Laura’s hesitancey was gone.  She fully embraced having me in the office with the rest of her well established and expierenced team. We never looked back.  

There were no private offices available so I moved into an office with Becky Elwood.  I watched every move she made and listened her every word.  Looking back now I realize there was no better agent to have shared an office with.  Becky does it right and I’m thankful to have learned from her.  The agents in the office at that time let me tag along with them to appointments all the time.  I continued to be a sponge in the breakroom where I got to hear what was happening with specific transactions day in and day out. 

When my first child came along the outpouring of support was so helpful and meant so much to me and Rob. We become friends with the C-21 gang and we had so much fun.  The years I spent there were not very productive in the way that productivity is  typically measured in this industry.  My time at Century 21, Sunlight Agency was much more valuable to me than that.  I learned life lessons. Some of them were hard ones but all were critical to staying in the business long term.  I learned how to perservere when circumstances became  uncomfortable and even when they were excrushiating.  I learned that the personal satisfaction of a happy customer is so much more rewarding than depositing a check.  I learned how to thrive as a working mom. 

Most importantly, I learned that the desires that God plants in your heart as a child are not there by accident.  If I put Him first in all I do He will provide blessings greater than my wildest imagination!

To be continued…..

Sarah

About Sarah Johnson

Johnson Home and Land is a small but active real estate firm in rural northwest Wyoming. We are an experienced team of professionals who seek inform our readers about the local and national real estate market. Contact us at info@johnsonhomeandland.com or 307-548-6909
This entry was posted in From Our Heart. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

