It’s like Pulling Teeth

The first week of 2013 was not all I hoped it would be.  I absolutely LOVE New Years, fresh starts, goals, resolutions….all of it.

Over a month ago I made a split decision about a wisdom tooth that needed to be pulled.  It wasn’t hurting me but it needed to come out and I wanted to schedule the appointment in 2013 for insurance purposes.  I am not typically a procrastinator but seriously…is there ever a good day to have a tooth pulled.  Exactly!  I knew the temptation to put it off would be a force to be reckoned with. I could justify a long list of reasons why I would not have time and that prompted me to spit out the words….”I’ll take the first opening you have after the 1st.”  Long story short… the extraction was a bigger deal than I thought and I am VERY glad that it is over with.

So what does a goal-setter, resolution-maker, life-planner like me learn from having a tooth pulled on the first business day of a new year? I learned that I have not mastered procrastination in my life and I must be very intentional so that it does not sneak in the back door.

Every time I think of the dental procedure (which is often due to the PAIN!) I am energized by the fact that it is done.  I have no unfinished dental business, nothing hanging over my head that I to try to keep ignoring or justifying. It’s true in my real estate business, the running of my household and every other area of life.  I feel a surge of mental energy every time think about a completed task.  In fact…the more unpleasant the task….the bigger the charge.  Conversely …every time I think of that closet that needs cleaned out, that phone call that needs to be made, the lab work that needs to be done I feel a loss of mental clarity, a sense of feeling tired or foggy headed.

I got off to a rough start last week because there was a work day, then a Holiday, then a tooth pulling day etc. I was bummed because I didn’t get to turn over the proverbial new leaf. I decided that I wanted a do over! So I started my own personal new year on the first Monday of 2013.

Each morning this week I have planned my day by being brutally honest with myself as to which tasks or calls are going to be the most challanging and I do them first, scratch them off the list and enjoy the reward for the rest of the day.

Happy New Year to you all!

Picture 34

Sarah

 

About Sarah Johnson

Johnson Home and Land is a small but active real estate firm in rural northwest Wyoming. We are an experienced team of professionals who seek inform our readers about the local and national real estate market. Contact us at info@johnsonhomeandland.com or 307-548-6909
This entry was posted in Motivation and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

