Change is Constant

The last couple of months I have immersed myself deeply in learning.  Change is constant and even good change requires lots of creative energy.  I have been studying best practices in the areas of real estate, real estate education, public speaking, intentional leadership and personal finance.   I am so thankful for the resources that are available on the internet these days.  I appreciate the high quality leaders who are willing not just to share what they know but to passionately teach it to anyone who will listen.

When I started my career people were territorial and business seemed scarce.  There were only so many listings to go around and whoever got the listing won and I lost.   We were competitive back in 95′ and we still are…but in a different way.  Information is available like never before so our business has changed.  There are still those trying to hold on to the way it used to be.  The familiarity is comfortable and they have gotten really proficient on the fax machine  but I am certain…..it’s not coming back and honestly….I’m glad.  I have come to prefer the new way. I have embraced the change and will do my best to continue to learn and grow with the industry instead of pushing back against it.

In today’s market agents still compete for listings but I think there has been an attitude adjustment.  Part of our job is to educate potential buyers and sellers as to the service we provide and how believe we can be of critical assistance to them.  We communicate what they can expect of us and mutually agree if our firm is the best fit for their needs and vice versa.   If a seller (or buyer) decides that another agent or firm is better suited to serve them….who am I to disagree?  This decision probably just saved us both from a non-productive and potentially stressful business relationship.  “Losing” this listing just freed up many hours for me to pour myself into clients and customers who are a fit for me and my team.  I can help more people and be more profitable if I am spending the majority of my time with people who understand what we have to offer and are satisfied with that.  Adversarial business relationships take a disproportionate amount of time and energy.  I have found that 3 of these situations going on at once exhaust all the mental energy I have. Admittedly my other clients, my staff and unfortunately my family are affected when I am mentally wiped out.  On the flip side I have personally handled more than 20 transactions at once and when all of them are operating within the agreed upon boundaries…..it’s down right invigorating.

Thanks for stopping by today.  I invite you to stop back often.

Sarah

Casual bus photo

About Sarah Johnson

Johnson Home and Land is a small but active real estate firm in rural northwest Wyoming. We are an experienced team of professionals who seek inform our readers about the local and national real estate market. Contact us at info@johnsonhomeandland.com or 307-548-6909
This entry was posted in Motivation and Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

