A Day Late

I’m about to type an unlikely post and it’s a day late to boot.  Yesterday was Earth Day.  I have honestly never considered many of the environmental issues that are front and center these days.  When the whole thing become a political debate it lost even more appeal to me.  I certainty have never been anti-environmental, I just never gave it a lot of thought. We live in very rural northwestern Wyoming where the mass waste of energy is not in our face.
I have never littered and have been known to pick up after those that do but other than that I’ve never been terribly passionate about it.  However…. I have 10 year old daughter who is very passionate about taking care of the earth and I am PASSIONATE about her.  So….I’m going green with her.  Here are some things that we have started doing in our home to take care of the earth and keep our girl happy.

  • We are phasing into energy saving light bulbs as our old ones burn out.  (I don’t hate them as much as I used to even though lights having to “warm up” seems like a step back in time)
  • We take our cans and bottles to the recycling center in the grocery store parking lot. (Please take the bear-proof recycle bins to Yellowstone Park where they belong and give us some that you can open without busting a fingernail)
  • I have switched to green Shaklee cleaning products.  (I love them.  Kids can safely use them and if the girl strong armed me into all these changes she can pick up a sponge and help me celebrate change)
  • I only drive my SUV when I have to and the rest of the time I drive a car that gets 26 miles to a gallon.  (Sorry no electric car for me….yet.)

I still have a loooong way to go….or so she tells me.  The next twelve months I hope to make a few more changes like

  • Maybe buying some (20 or 30) of those reusable shopping bags so I don’t have to throw away so many of the plastic ones.
  • Not letting my car run while I’m not in it.  (This will be a challenge as Wyoming mornings are c-c-cold)
  • Getting a tankless water heater.

My environmental attitude is a work in progress just ask my daughter.  I appreciate her patience with me and together as the rest of our family members get on board we will make a difference.  It’s a small difference but I remind her often….if everyone would do a little it will become a lot.

Happy Belated Earth Day to you all!  Especially you Summer!

Sarah Johnosn/Mom

About Sarah Johnson

Johnson Home and Land is a small but active real estate firm in rural northwest Wyoming. We are an experienced team of professionals who seek inform our readers about the local and national real estate market. Contact us at info@johnsonhomeandland.com or 307-548-6909
This entry was posted in From Our Heart and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Day Late

  1. Sarah, Please say a Thank You to Summer, she has inspired us all. I agree that if we all make a small change it will turn into bigger ones as we learn more about it and teach others how to recycle, repurpose and give back when we can.

    Like

Leave a Reply

