Another Year….

I can’t believe it…another year down.  The first of 2012 means I will begin my 18th year selling in real estate in Wyoming!  Wow…no wonder I have more gray hair (to cover) than most people my age!  I went home last night with several of my John Maxwell and Dave Ramsey books and I could tell my family was thinking…. “here she goes again with the goals.”  It’s true…nothing motivates me like a written, achievable and measurable goal. The only thing better is being able to get someone else excited about goal setting.   And believe it or not I appreciate the accountability too.  I may not jump up and down with joy over someone’s “constructive criticism” but seriously I will thank you for it later.  Here are some of the quotes I have soaked up in Ramsey’s latest book….

  • Anyone or any business that can maintain focus has an almost unfair advantage in the marketplace.
  • You should study, interview and when possible hang around with people who are better than you in an area you want to win in.
  • Every time I read the book…..the tortoise wins.
  • Winning at business at times requires that you exhaust every ounce of spiritual, emotional and physical energy you have. You wont put that effort in day in and day out, year in and year out, just for money.  Money is great,  but it is ultimately an empty goal.
  • You have to have a passion, a higher calling, to what you engage in.

I just love how he thinks.  Those quotes could be mine….if only I’d thought of them….written them down….. gone through the excruciating editing and publishing process….never mind….they are Dave’s quotes ALL Dave’s.

I set my goals in several areas and have a long as I can remember….even as a child.  I’d make a goal to keep my room clean or be nice to my sister.  I have tweaked the process over the years and have to learn not to beat myself up when goals don’t come to fruition.  I also have had to become a little more flexible.  Life happens, things change and sometimes a goal needs to be modified. Sometimes you just need to give yourself permission to get back on track. For me the power of goals is mostly in that they give direction.  They give my mind an uncompleted task and then I tend more toward actions and decisions that move me that way.

Happy New Year to you all….enjoy your goal setting and I’ll see you in 2012.

Sarah

About Sarah Johnson

Johnson Home and Land is a small but active real estate firm in rural northwest Wyoming. We are an experienced team of professionals who seek inform our readers about the local and national real estate market. Contact us at info@johnsonhomeandland.com or 307-548-6909
This entry was posted in From Our Heart and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

